Flirc Forums

Newb question

Xxtonymanxx

Hello all!

ok so you guessed it I'm a newb lol

ok so what I have

i have a Samsung smart tv

i have an Aris cable box and a Samsung sound bar.

and I have a Amazon Fire tv cheap version I honk it's the first one and its jail broken with Kodi 

i have a time warner cable remote that works with my tv and cable but not my sound bar

i just bought a rca universal remote that works with the tv and cable but it didn't register the sound bar so I had it learn to turn it in and off and the volume. How do I set up Flirc to work with the time warner remote and the Soundbar  and the fire stick or the rca remote to work with the fire stick ?

The rca remote is getting annoying bc it doesn't let me change the type from tv to cable to sound bar. Each time I press the appropriate device it turns it off. An example is if I'm using the cable control and I want to use my tv feature to change the hdmi input I need to press tv but it turns it off then when I turn it on it can change to the input , if I decide to watch cable I press cable and it turns it off and when I put it back on I control cable..... If I can control the Amazon Fire tv il just deal with it.  Thank you in advance 

Hi,

To control Flirc you need to set up additional device on your remote. Basically you should have a separate device set up on remote for each hardware device you have: 1 - TV, 2 - CableBox, 3 - SoundBar, 4 - Flirc.

I don't know RCA remotes at all (and you haven't provided model of the remote) so I can't tell you how many devices is your remote capable of controlling at the same time.

If you don't like the RCA remote here's one I would like to recommend to you:
http://www.amazon.com/One-All-OARUSB04G-Universal-Programming/dp/B00HNIHM5S