Jump to content
Flirc Forums
sgt panties

Flirc backup and restore

Recommended Posts

Now that I've spent hours setting up my Flirc (no fault of Flirc, there's just a lot of factors to consider) it would be nice if I could dump my Flirc's mappings to file that I could save in my backups, just in case I got a new Flirc or my current Flirc gets stolen or zapped.   AND, tweaker that I am, it would be nice if that backup file was editable text, not binary.   Of course this implies that the backup file is used by the other nice-to-have function: a Flirc restore.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please take a look at the File menu in Flirc GUI. You should see Save, Load and Clear configuration options. These operate on the configuration that is saved in the Flirc.

It's not in an editable text format and you should not edit it by hand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yawor

can we name our file anything we want followed by .fcfg?

I looked at my device log and it stated " invalid length" also. 

Are all flirc setups name "flirc.fcfg" ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Bob Sutton you can name your config files any way you want. The name of the config file doesn't matter to Flirc. It is only a backup of the config. Flirc doesn't load its config from a file as the config is stored ON the device. To make it clear: save configuration is used to backup Flirc's internal config area to a file and load configuration is used to restore Flirc's internal config area from a previously saved file. You don't need to save the config for Flirc to work.

The "invalid length" has nothing to do with config files. Can you send me your log with that message?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So it is stored on the device without saving. But to restore a saved config we load it and overwrite the one saved on the device.  Correct?

I can't get that IT debugging message back.  Not critical tight now I suppose 

Thx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The configuration on the device is updated automatically every time you record or delete a key or change something in advanced options.

Yes, restoring the backup (using load configuration options in the GUI) overwrites previous config stored on the device.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×